After the first week - Time Management Challenge

After the first week - Time Management Challenge

A self-experiment Part 2.

This is the second part of this series. and I have to say it is quite hard to manage it right now. Whether they can be successfully managed depends not only on the large number of projects but also on the complexity of each project.

Break down into pieces

I read the rule in several places that a larger problem should be broken down into smaller sub-tasks and thus be easier to handle. This can also be found in the agile method.

The serious challenge is the efficient distribution of small fragments so that the myriad sub-tasks and their delegation over time do not grind up resources.

This week

Well, my challenge for the week is to spread these projects and the tasks associated with them in a timely manner and to distribute them effectively, as they also need to be presented to clients so that progress can be felt everywhere.

I will look at which projects are currently running, I will list them. I’ll review what steps are still needed to complete them. I break down these larger steps into smaller tasks and distribute them over time. This is helped by the fact that I create a separate list of larger steps (milestones) and smaller subtasks for separate milestones. Then, using ClickUp, I assign tasks to days and times via the calendar view.

Time estimation

The error can still slip in. If I misjudge the time allotted for a given task, the other tasks will slip. The best practice is to leave more time for unsafe tasks. After all, in this case, if I finish earlier, other tasks may get ahead.

At the same time, I have to allocate administrative time to projects and everything else. As I also have to communicate externally with my clients, On the status of specific projects and new calls for proposals. Of course, I have to divide my time into keeping my studies in progress as well as marketing activities.

Administrative timeslot

It’s best to put these in the morning and try to do all this kind of administrative work in one package. I schedule requests and inquiries that day for the 1-hour administrative time the next morning.

The point is that distractions should not be allowed to take place during the actual work. All communications and tasks not related to the execution of the project should be grouped into the administrative period. Put simply, don’t reply to emails, phones, and chat messages right away. Arrange at the beginning or end of the day or when idle. They should not be allowed to get caught in the pockets because they will shred you.

And so the efficiency deteriorates.

So in summary:

  • Divide your projects into Milestones.
  • Sub-tasks from Milestones
  • Estimate the time required to complete the tasks.
  • Leave more time for unsafe tasks
  • Divide the tasks between the days of a weekly calendar in time.
  • Leave 1 hour in the morning for administrative tasks.
  • At the end of each day, review the tasks for what worked and what didn’t.
  • Schedule these again in the weekly calendar
  • (the most difficult) do not let the difficulty or mood determine the performance of the tasks. The death of action is procrastination. Start doing it and if you have a hard time starting, you will see that by the time you realize you are already in the middle.

I hope this article helps you increase your efficiency. One week and I'll arrive with another dosage.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Péter Teszáry by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!