Let the journey begin

Let the journey begin

Since I have no idea where to start, I'm going to jump right into the middle. As I wrote in the first post, I've always been interested in computers and computing. I wanted to know what works and how it works. As fate would have it, I had to start my studies in a different direction. In order to support myself and my family financially. But the idea of getting into programming kept nagging at me.

The opportunity to study software development came up. If not in a university context (although I already had a few degrees), I was able to enroll in a course in adult education. I would like and want to do this training. I have learnt a lot as it is, but I want to improve my knowledge to a professional level. I actually see school as a stepping stone, because in many cases we don't think in the same way with the training system. I learn a lot of things that I'm not really interested in. But if those are the conditions, I'll do it.

As an example, in school we're pretty much planned in the direction of learning C#. I personally don't like it because I switched to Linux from Windows a few years ago. I would never look back. But unfortunately, C# development is primarily based on Windows. So that's why I stuck an SSD with windows installed. I usually swap it when I have to deal with C#. WPF forms and serious C# stuff can only be developed in Visual Studio. And JetBrains Rider is costly for a student just to learn to develop in a programming language he doesn't want to learn.

Dual boot is also out of the question, because I have a 120 SSD, which is small for this, and I don't want to buy a new one just for studying C#. So that leaves this method. The other "main" language we are learning is Java. But this is only tangential.

Unfortunately. By the way, I didn't like Java either, because they made me hate it in college, but if you have to choose between the two (because you have to choose), I prefer Java, because it can be developed on any platform (operating system). So the main exam that I have to solve in a team will be Java based. At least part of it. And I'll be able to do this by buying a great Java course on Udemy (and a C# one too).

So my next weeks and months will be about mastering these two languages (and many others that are mandatory). I really hope to be able to finish the software package with my classmates that we have planned/ I have planned.

So, in the future, I would like to share the processes, results and experiences related to this in this series. If you would like to join me, please subscribe. There will be lots of interesting content. Follow me! :)

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Péter Teszáry by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!